February Doll of the Month

Each month we feature a different member of our organization.  Our Doll of the Month for February 2015:

MRS. O’LEARY DOLL

10928620_10153158119901162_1417699624_n

*In my best Mrs. Doubtfire voice * Hellllooooooooooo, my name is Amber O’Leary and I’m Mrs. O’Leary Doll, the Head Doll for the Louisiana Chapter of the Modified Dolls! I live in Marrero, LA which is a suburb on the Westbank of New Orleans. Learn more about Marrero here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SCS72s41Cgc, here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wvh5KeZ-85A, AND here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WsVfWHPq3ng! I’m living my dream, working in radio broadcasting as an associate producer for WWL and 3WL radio stations.
I joined TMD in January of 2013 and hit the ground running. In this short period of time I’ve had too many wonderful experiences to count. It’s hard for me to explain why this organization is so special and just what it means to me…so I asked for a little help. I blindly prompted my group to tell me what their time as a Doll has been like and here are excerpts from their musings:

“I joined The Louisiana Modified Dolls in June 2014 and life has been a joyous, frantic, and amazingly rewarding thrill-ride ever since. I have found a family of women who share triumphs, tears and laughter in a way that I once thought was closed to me. Though our mission is to try to enrich the lives of others, the life that has really been enriched is mine. I want to be the best person I can – not only for my local, national and global community, but for the women I hold so dear -those crazy painted and pierced ladies. Sometimes irreverent, but always looking for the good. How rare. How precious. How lucky I am.” – Adamantium Doll, River Ridge, LA
“It’s a wonderful group to be a part of with some loving and dedicated women who devote a lot of time to charity. It’s definitely a sisterhood and one I’m proud to be a part of!” –VooDoo Doll, Kenner, LA
“Although I had been volunteering on my own at the time, working alongside these committed, intelligent women inspired me far beyond anything I had done alone. Every cause we adopt becomes dear to me and my sisters; every effort to support those in need is embraced by all of us in unity. There is no time for judgment, apathy or conflict, not while there’s so much work to be done in this world. The passion for making a difference in the community, the genuine friendships, and the sincerity within our group is something rarely experienced in our society, and it is truly a treasure to find myself amongst such beautiful modified women doing our best to make the world a better, brighter place.” –Googie Doll, Hammond, LA
“One amazing thing that I have learned about being a Doll in our chapter is we are small in number but very powerful. We have nine amazing, talented, outgoing, big hearted women. I couldn’t be more honored to be a Louisiana modified doll.” –CoCo-licious Doll, Thibodaux, LA
“Being a Louisiana Modified Doll has affected my whole life in many ways. I’ve never known a group of more positive, supportive women, and I’m honored to be a part of it. I’ve also never felt like such a contributor not only to charity but also to society in general as we negate stereotypes. All of those things have helped me to become more comfortable with who I am and how I express myself, how I socialize with people, and just a more positive person overall.” –Sunshine Doll, Hammond, LA
“I’m hoping I can get more involved not just with the dolls, but other charity opportunities around Shreveport.” –Phynyx Doll, Shreveport, LA
“It has been one of the best decisions I’ve made in my adult life, I do believe. It IS about the charities we come together for. I truly feel that being a Modified Doll makes me a better me. These women beside me in this group make me a better me. Our body modifications may have brought us together, but it’s our hearts that truly hold us together. That desire to give back to the world in whatever way we can is what holds us together. I took a leap of faith when I headed into this organization, and it has been continuously rewarding in so many ways. I am truly passionate about what we do and who we are, and I plan to always be a Modified Doll.” –Biddy Boo Doll, Thibodaux, LA
“By myself I’m an artistic person, one who enjoys all forms of art and artistic expression. So tattoos and all forms of body modifications are something that resonated with me since a young age. I’m also the kind of person that loves to do things for others just as much as I love to do things for myself, and since I fricken love myself, I fricken love to help people. A lot. Like ,a lot a lot. So, when I 1st joined the dolls this was my 1st motive…I didn’t really expect to find out more about myself. What naive thinking. I should have known better, we never stop learning. I learned there was a teeny tiny bit of me that was ever so slightly distressed by the way people might judge me for my appearance. BUT through the dolls, when I have those few run-ins with cute tattoo rad chick nah sayers, I can tell them proudly about what I do. I’ve even found out that more often than not it’s just a misconception and through curious conversation they become interested in what we do and that’s mega fulfilling! I also learned that despite years at an all-girl catholic school, other women are not in fact the devil. I love, love, love being a doll for the good I can do for others, the good I can do for myself, and to be a part of a hopefully growing group of women!” –Chibi Doll, Metairie, LA

These smart, talented, beautiful, amazing, charitable, women with hearts made of gold are The Louisiana Modified Dolls and they each represent what makes this organization so very special and why I continue to dedicate my time and pour my heart into everything we do. If you get to know them, you get to know me. We are more than a non-profit made up of tattooed and pierced women…we are SISTERS. We are sisters set out on a mission of spreading love and good-will across the globe while having FUN. It’s charity with a twist…a crazy, colorful, metal laden twist! And I wouldn’t trade it for the world!

Leave a comment