March Doll of the Month

Each month we feature a different member of our organization.  Our Doll of the Month for March 2015:
SELENE V
 Mod Dolls 337
Name: Annamaria Farkas
Doll name: Selene V, I`m the Head Doll, Treasurer and Designer of the UK Chapter, mentor of the Aussie chapter and Social Media Chair for The Modified Dolls.

Location: Plymouth, Devon, UK

Occupation: Support Officer (I`m working with individuals with mental health issues and learning disabilities), I have an MS in Special Needs Teaching and currently studying for a BA in Criminology and Psychology at Plymouth University (in my final year).

When&why did you become a Doll:
I joined TMD in December 2011 and became a full member in February 2012. I have been judged based on my appearance since I was a teenager, I was a Goth, then started to getting tattoos, coloured my hair, etc., which was frowned up on in Mid-Eastern Europe (Hungary is my original home country). Even though I graduated as a Special Needs Teacher with high marks, I was asked to cover my tattoos and possibly change my appearance at the school where I used to work. I always spoke up for people who were ‘different’ than the masses. I also supported charities and people and animals in need since I was young. Since I went to school, I gave away my packed lunch for stray dogs and I even adopted a few…that came to a point though when my mum said we can’t possibly have more dogs, so I tried to find good homes for those I couldn’t keep. I also gave away my old clothes to the Red Cross and always helped others when I could, since I was 6-7 years old. The mission statement of Modified Dolls appealed to me and quite fit to my personality.

Info about our chapter:
The UK Dolls currently have 9 members, 1 of them lives in Ireland. Since I joined the UK Dolls we have had many up and downs, with Dolls living far away from each other and some issues of organizing fundraiser events. However, I think we always had a strong base of few very committed ladies, who work hard to support the charities and keep our group together. Although we had a bumpy road behind us, I think 2015 will be an exciting year for the UK Chapter: we are organizing a few awesome fundraiser events, we were invited to attend Exeter`s first tattoo convention, we published our Cookbook in aid of charities on Magcloud, also had a few positive replies from magazines to be published and spread awareness on the mission of TMD and our supported charities!
I also mentor the Aussie chapter, which is rebuilding currently and we have 1 full Aussie Doll, who is a lovely lady and tries her best to raise awareness for TMD and our charity of the month.

What I like to do for fun:

I love going out to see bands and to festivals (I usually listen to rock and metal music), try to take my 2 adopted puppies out when I can for long walks and drives with my boyfriend and see my friends. I live 2000 miles away from my family and hometown, I usually visit them once a year, when I travel across half Europe to see my loved ones. I don`t have much free time with full time work, university and volunteering, but when I got a chance I`m either out and about or watching my favourite movies (great fan of horrors and sci-fi)! 🙂

portsm

Leave a comment